HomeScholarships and Awards



The Alice Jordan Mentorship Award was established in 2010 by the West Central Ohio Oncology Nursing Society (WCO-ONS) in memory of our colleague, Alice Jordan. Alice  was a long time member of the West Central Ohio Chapter and was active in our chapter until her death in November 2007.  From 1974-2005, Alice was an RN in women’s health nursing and gynecologic oncology at Miami Valley Hospital.  She advocated for excellent patient care by educating and mentoring numerous oncology nurses throughout her career. 

The recipient of this award will receive a $250 scholarship to apply toward an activity that supports the oncology nurse’s practice as a mentor/educator.  This may include, but is not limited to, areas such as certification, registration for an educational activity, or reimbursement for national dues. 

The Alice Jordan Mentorship Award will be granted by a competitive selection process.   All applicants must meet the following criteria to be considered: 

  1. The Applicant must be a member of WCO-ONS and be a registered nurse in the field of cancer nursing.
  2. The Applicant must use the award for an activity that supports the oncology nurse’s clinical practice as a mentor or educator.
  3. The Applicant must submit a brief summary of the activity for an article in the WCO-ONS newsletter, the Central Line, during the year awarded. 
  4. The Nominator must submit the completed award application and nomination form. Nominator must include all items at the time of submission. 

The Scholarship Committee, appointed by the WCO-ONS, will review all applications and will use a grant scoring record.   Names and other identifying information will be removed prior to the selection process.  All decisions will be final.

Application forms and information for submitting the applicationare available below or by contacting a member of the WCO-ONS Board or by request by contacting Joyce Russo, WCO Scholarship Chair. Applications will be accepted electronically, typed or neatly written by the deadline. 

Completed applications will be submitted to: Joyce Russo, Scholarship Chair via fax at (937) 656-1615 or via e-mail at

Application deadline (no exceptions) is April 30th. Scholarship will be awarded at the WCO ONS May Meeting. 

        2010 Recipient: Lori Bellan, RN

                2011 Recipient: Barbara Paxson, RN     

           2012 Recipient: Marianne Brown, RN



Download zip

Files / Folders File Size Posted By Date Posted Actions
2017Alice Jordan Award form.pdf
53k La DonnaHinkle 3/17/17  
ONS Chapter Scholarship Application and Rules.docx
14k La DonnaHinkle 3/16/18  

Chapter Virtual Community Change

ONS has moved to a new platform for the Chapter Virtual Communities.  To find your chapter community, please visit, log in, and select "Communities" and "My Chapters" on the menu bar.
If you have any questions, please contact us at